The Wedding by Lavender and Lace – Take 2

I promised you wouldn’t have to wait too long. And one day is really no time at all.

I must admit I wasn’t as good at taking pictures once I got to this stage, it was too much fun to just keep stitching.

So here is our first picture. Only a little bit more done since the last update.

Photobucket

A closer look at the area that I worked on.

Photobucket

And then, suddenly so much more work done.

Photobucket

This is my favorite part of the dress, I just love the shading on the dress.

Photobucket

And then I decided we need to add some color to the mix. Look at the pretty flowers

Photobucket

Still not made a decision on the ribbons though, at this point the contenders were antique mauve and antique violet.

Photobucket

Some more of the off-white filled on, almost complete now and yet no decision on the ribbons

Photobucket

And finally, dress completely cross stitched, including ribbon. The winner was [drumroll] Antique Violet.

Photobucket

Pretty, pretty ribbons.

Photobucket

Bouquet still needs a bit of backstitch

Photobucket

Elsewhere the bride’s hair was finally finished as well, after many changes I finally went with shades of brown. And you can see a little of the veil here.

Photobucket

Then it was on to the dreaded DMC Light Effects, first up is the border.

Photobucket

It actually wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be and it looks great on the fabric

Photobucket

From the border it was straight on to the letters, isn’t the ‘U’ amazing?

Photobucket

Sorry did you want to see all the letters? Here you go then.

Photobucket

And the more personal information, the alphabet is from another wedding sampler which was in Cross Stitch Collection (I think).

Photobucket

The bouquet finally got it’s backstitch

Photobucket

Finishing touches have now been added, backstitching on the bride and groom and the beads.

Photobucket

OMG, the beads. All 420 of them

Photobucket

I actually loved putting them in

Photobucket

Here it is, completely stitched

Photobucket

And for your viewing pleasure, the backside. I’d rather proud of how neat it is.

Photobucket

Now there aren’t many pictures left, just of the piece framed in fact. However my mean streak is shining through again and you’ll get to see these some other time. Don’t worry it won’t be too long.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. claire93
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 12:47:25

    what an incredibly beautiful piece of stitching and a great idea to have taken photos as you went, to give a step by step account.
    Can’t wait to see it framed and I do hope the happy couple appreciated all the hours and hours and thought that went into this truly unique gift.

    Reply

    • Line
      Nov 10, 2010 @ 14:40:46

      Thank you Claire 🙂 Normally I would have posted updates on here as I stitched but of course I didn’t want to ruin the surprise for BIL and SIL. They were very appreciative, in fact they immediately hung it up in the middle of their living room, which I though was really lovely of them 🙂

      Reply

  2. Olga
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 19:31:50

    it’s amazing! wonderful!
    Good job!

    Reply

  3. MysteryStitcher
    Nov 14, 2010 @ 15:31:51

    Such a pretty sight!

    Reply

  4. Erla Björk
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 23:22:46

    Amazing work Line! Loved looking at all you photos 🙂

    Reply

    • Line
      Dec 28, 2010 @ 02:57:17

      Erla – Thanks so much. Hope it’s not too cold for you guys in Iceland and that you and your family are having a great Christmas 🙂

      Marte – Takk ska du ha, det e alltid koselig å få ros 🙂 God Jul

      Lucinda – Thank you, I love hearing people’s comments on it.

      Reply

  5. Marte
    Dec 27, 2010 @ 16:42:45

    Et fantastisk stykke arbeid du har nedlagt her; vakkert, rett og slett! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Lucinda Lynx
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 00:36:28

    I love that! Be proud of what you have accomplished!

    Reply

  7. Kathy A
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 16:16:36

    That is just stunning. What a fabulous job! Congratulations.

    Reply

  8. Alféea
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 23:06:59

    Félicitations pour cette magnifique broderie (recto/verso), c’est vraiment un splendide cadeau de mariage.

    Reply

  9. Stephanie
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 15:48:40

    I was wondering if you know what magazine you used for the alphabet? I am stitching this design for my daughers wedding, and love the lettering you used….Thanks so much, Stephanie

    Reply

    • Line
      Apr 12, 2012 @ 17:06:06

      The alphabet was from Crossstitcher Magazine issue 225, it’s the alphabet for the wedding sampler

      Sorry about the late reply

      Reply

Leave a comment

Copyright © 2007-2011 Line Sletvold Finnan
wordpress visitor counter