Blackwork Tudor Rose

Here is my last crossstitch picture, for today at least.

tudorroseblackwork_med

This is a design called Tudor Rose which was in Crossstitcher, December issue I think. It will eventually end up as a cushion, and it will have a twin.
It was stitched on 16-count white Aida, using DMC 310 Black. I have to admit to not doing proper blackwork stitches, I did back stitching instead for most of if. For those who don’t know Blackwork is suppose to look identical, front and back, which the double running stitch or Holbein stitch is supposed to achieve. Backstitching is quicker though, and as the back will be covered by fabric it doesn’t matter how messy it is.

Once both cushions are made up they will be a present for MIL, her 50th is in October and black and white is her preferred colours for her house.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. maemae
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 19:32:48

    Very impressed with this!! As I always am by your stitching and the writing I have read of yours so far!

    Reply

  2. kell1976
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 02:43:01

    So pretty – I’ve earmarked this design to do myself, although I don’t know when I’ll get to it or what colour combination I’ll choose…

    Reply

    • Line
      Apr 12, 2010 @ 08:16:39

      Thanks Kell, I’m doing this one once more in black, but I think maybe after that I might do it in a varigate colour, unless I’m too sick of it by then 🙂

      Reply

  3. Rebecca
    Sep 07, 2013 @ 15:54:14

    Hello, my name is Rebecca and I was the person who designed the Tudor Rose for the magazine, back when I was working for the Royal School of Needlework! It’s so nice to see what people have done with the design, very rarely do you get a chance to see the finished product. Hope you enjoyed stitching it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2007-2011 Line Sletvold Finnan
wordpress visitor counter
