Lizzie*Kate Exchange Blog: Exchange C

In May I joined the Lizzie*Kate Exchange Blog and promptly joined in with the first exchange open to me. I had a really hard time deciding on which chart to stitch, and an even harder time figuring out how to finish it. I mean, my stitching is good, but I don’t have a lot of finishing experience since I haven’t been particularly adventurous when it comes to finishing off my stitching. To tell you the truth I was getting really anxious about the whole thing, especially as the standard of finishing amongst the rest of the blog members was really high. I finally decided on a pattern, Plant Love from issue 28 of The Gift of Stitching, which stitched up quickly. I used 32-count natural linen, and floss from my stash, a mixture of DMC, GAST, WDW and Dragonfloss.

Photobucket

Then I had it lying around for a few weeks before I figured out how to finish it. By coincidence I had picked up some paper mache boxes at a store near us, and had the bright idea of trying to mount my stitching on top of one. How hard could it be, right? As it turns out, not too hard actually, provided you have the right tools of course.
Before mounting it I painted the box in white, then I attached the stitching to some mounting board, together with some wadding and finally used my dinky new glue gun to attach it to the box top. I trimmed the bottom of the box with some adhesive ribbon and trimmed around the top with some purple cord. All in all I was pleasantly surprised by how nice it looked, one of the favorite things I’ve made so far.

Judge for yourselves 🙂

Photobucket

My partner, Conny, got it without any problems, and I think she liked it.

Not long after I sent mine off I got a package of my own through the letter box, containing this beautiful ornament from Angela P

Photobucket

It’s so beautiful, and it really inspires me to keep trying new finishes, I’m determined that a few of my Christmas ornaments this year will be made up using this flat finishing. After all, with this perfect example how can I go wrong?

Round D is getting close to send off dates and I have of course signed up, so hopefully you’ll get to see pictures from that in the beginning of October.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. claire93
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 21:16:11

    your box is really beautiful – bet you are so proud of yourself for having done a different finish

    Reply

  2. kirstyross85
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 21:57:46

    What a brilliant finish! I love the Lizzie Kate designs but as yet have never had the chance to do one, I think next year I will have to have a go! I can’t wait to see your Christmas ornament finishes too x Well done x

    Kirsty

    Reply

  3. Mrs. Know-Nothing
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 22:17:25

    I love your Lizzie Kate Box. What a neat idea. It is just lovely.

    Reply

  4. Lesleyanne
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 06:58:43

    Your box is gorgeous especially for a first attempt. Love the ornament you received from Angela.

    Reply

  5. Blu
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 03:39:44

    That box is just gorgeous! You can bet that Conny adores it.
    And you claim it’s your first box? I only wish my first had looked half as good!

    Reply

  6. Anna
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 21:21:04

    Nice job!

    Reply

  7. albastitcher
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 21:59:07

    Love the box, very nicely finished.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2007-2011 Line Sletvold Finnan
wordpress visitor counter
