Stitchy Saturdays – Some Finishes

As you know I had promised my mum that I’d make her a wall hanging mail organizer (surely there must be an easier way of say that!), in any case I finished the stitching with only a few hiccups, but really struggled when it came to finishing it off.
In the end I cheated, I found this beautiful place mat at John Lewis and since the dimensions were sort of what I had in mind I just attached the stitching as a pocket on the place mat. I had already bought a hanger from the RICO Collection and to attach the place mat to the hanger I made some loops at the top using some suitable ribbon. I’m really pleased with this one, probably one of my nicer finishes, in fact I might make one for myself.

Photobucket

Here is a closer look

Photobucket

At the end of March I signed up for a bookmark exchange with one of my facebook groups. I decided to stitch a Lizzie*Kate pattern I received from a friend, it’s called Peep. I found some hand dyed evenweave (28 count I think) from Polstitches and matched the floss I had as closely as I could to the charted DMC colors (I was missing a couple). After I finished stitching I mounted it on some white self-adhesive felt, but I forgot to take a picture before sending it off. Here it is though before I mounted it on the felt.

Photobucket

Here is a closer look at the cute chick 🙂

Photobucket

I also finished April’s Christmas ornament. I stitched one of the Little House Needleworks (LHN) ornaments from 2010 – Frosty Flakes. I didn’t have the charted colors so I matched them up as closely as I could. For the scarf I had the suggested dmc floss, but I wanted it to look more like the hand dyed so I used two different colors together. I think it turned out rather well. The ornament was stitched on 32-count DMC raw linen, one of my favorite fabrics.

Photobucket

I stitched the snowman in white together with some Kreinik blending filament (pearl), and his yellow nose is stitched in Madeira silk

Photobucket

Lastly I stitched up these Mackintosh Roses, the charts were out of one of my Zweigart booklets (the Rose one). I used the same fabric as i did for the bookmark, but quite a subtle part of it color wise. And I stitched the roses in Victoria Clayton HDF silks Victorian Mauve and Tigerlily. I loved stitching with them, they didn’t tangle or any thing. I’ll make it up into a card, not sure who for yet though.

Photobucket

While stitching I definitely thought the purple Victorian Mauve looked best, but looking at it now I love the different colors in Tigerlily.

Photobucket

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. claire93
    May 01, 2011 @ 10:00:55

    some really lovely finishes there Line. A great idea to use a place mat for the hanging mail pouch and your little chick and snowman are simply gorgeous. Those Mackintosh roses are also lovely in their simplicity.

    Reply

  2. Erla Björk
    May 01, 2011 @ 11:26:55

    You sure are busy! Love all your finishes especially the snowman and that little chick is sooo cute 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2007-2011 Line Sletvold Finnan
wordpress visitor counter
