February Christmas Ornament Complete

Finished stitching my Christmas Ornament for February today. I chose a design from Issue 34 of The Gift of Stitching (the 2008 ornament issue), figured it’s about time I started stitching designs from all those back issues 🙂 The design I settled on was Gingerbread House Ornament by Olive Dyck of Olive Hope Design.
I used some of my hand dyed Polstitches fabric stash, Summer Breeze I think, 28 count evenweave. And I made up the floss colors from my own stash; the two browns of the gingerbread house was Weeks Dye Works Cocoa and Chestnut, the tree was done in Dragonfloss Holly Leaves and Wood Elf, and snow/frosting in Kreinik Very Fine Braid (#4) 032. The candy-cane was done in DMC Blanc and 321, and the yellow of the moon and windows was Madeira Silk 0114. The beads (supposed to look like Smarties on a gingerbread house) were various from my collection of Gütermann Beads and cheapy ones I picked up on Abu Dhabi, not entirely happy with them, but it will make for a fun and colorful ornament.

Photobucket\

Tune back next month for the March ornament, this time from Issue 35 of The Gift of Stitching.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. carladee
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 22:40:02

    That’s so pretty 🙂

    Reply

  2. Vicky
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 00:08:19

    That is great 🙂

    Reply

  3. Erla Björk
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 14:34:01

    So cute 🙂

    Reply

  4. Blu
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 00:44:50

    Very cute! It looks so colourful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2007-2011 Line Sletvold Finnan
wordpress visitor counter
