First cross stitch finishes of 2011

I have my first two finishes of 2011. The first one is a long time coming, I’ve spent almost exactly one year on it.

It is of course the Emily Peacock ‘HUG’ cushion.

Photobucket

It still needs to be made up into a cushion, but I’m leaving it until the hot water bottle cover and wall hanging is stitched so I can have a finishing day with Paul’s nan and get them all done. I haven’t actually bought fabric for it yet, in the instructions they use pale pink cotton, but I was thinking maybe a fuchsia silk fabric (I was eying some up at Abakhan the other day). I’m so relieved it’s done, it’s been hard going from start to finish really, the big stitches and the block colors really drove me crazy, it made it so boring to stitch. It looks great finished though, and once it’s a cushion it’ll look even better. Now I just need to finish ‘KISS’ so I have a match set, that thought is the only thing which will make me finish it. As mentioned before, this was stitched on 11-count aida using the charted DMC floss.

My second finish was far more fun, and quick. I started it as part of the Crazy January Challenge, it was my day 6 project I believe.
It’s a Lizzie*Kate design called Time for God, which I stitched over one on 32-count linen so it would be the perfect size for a bookmark. I had seen a fellow Crossstitchforum member do it, and was immediately inspired. It will be a gift for my SIL’s mum, who will be 60 in the next few weeks. She is the only person I know who is christian (not just Christmas and Easter), so I just knew I had to stitch this for her. I used the charted Weeks Dye Works with this design, and the fabric was DMC 32-count Raw Linen.

Photobucket

I have a couple of other finishes too, but the pictures for those will have to wait until they arrive at their new homes.

I’m off to do my Happy Dances

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Tweets that mention First cross stitch finishes of 2011 « Words of a Wikkid Woman -- Topsy.com
  2. Blu
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 06:38:19

    Congrats! HUGS is such a colourful finish, and Time For God makes such an awesome bookmark!

    Reply

  3. claire93
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 06:59:43

    well done! you’ve got me wondering whether or not to try 11 count for a cushion cover ^^
    must have been a big difference going from 11 count to 32 lol.

    Reply

    • Line
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 14:17:52

      It makes for a chunky pillow, so I quite like it. I have a bargello pattern which also calls for 11 count, and I really want to do that, but not for a while yet.
      The difference was ridiculous, it took my brain awhile to adjust. It was nice though after struggling through the over one stitches.

      Reply

  4. Kim
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 11:27:58

    Line! Great job so far. I love the bookmark. And I can’t wait to see the finished Sleepy Hollow sampler 🙂

    I’m ploughing on with my *massive* Moira Blackburn sampler. I have made some progress since you last saw it, but not a huge amount. I’m still only working on the top left-hand corner. I’m also stitching the free gift from The World of Cross Stitching – the Fizzy Moon valentine bear – as it’s cute and small and therefore something I can finish!

    Keep up the good work. xxx

    Reply

    • Line
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 14:07:32

      Did you finish your home sampler? The red one? I have that Fizzy Moon cover kit too, not stitched it yet though. Paul made fun of it, thought the bear was creepy so I might stitch it for him for Valentines 🙂 The Moira Blackburn is so gorgeous, I’m glad you’re keeping it up. It might take a while to stitch, but the end result will definitely be worth it.
      Shouldn’t be to long until I can pick up sleepy hollow again, just have some exchange pieces to finish first. We’ve rented a cottage in the Lakes for the first weekend in Feb and I’ll be taking it with me there 🙂 Hope you are all well in Dhabi 🙂 Miss our stitchy afternoons

      Reply

  5. Dee
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 22:03:15

    Congratulations on the finishes. The bookmark is simply beautiful!

    Reply

  6. Rhona
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 04:12:09

    Love the ‘hugs’ cushion, the colours are so bright and cheerful.

    Reply

  7. virginiasvirtues
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 18:26:26

    Congrats on the finish… That “hug” project is stunning!

    Reply

    • Line
      Feb 02, 2011 @ 20:00:40

      Thanks Virginia 🙂 I love your embroidery, which I was brave enough to do that, but think I’ll keep to my counted stitching

      Reply

  8. Charlotte
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 19:50:15

    Hiya
    I am just starting the hug cushion!!!! I am just in the process of ordering the DMC thread and want to make sure I have ordered enough!! Just wondering if you have any idea of how many of each colour you used? I have been advised 5 cream, 3brown and 1-3 of the other 9 colours, would this be about right?

    Reply

  9. Trackback: An Old Finish, Emily Peacock’s HUG cushion « Words of a Wikkid Woman

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2007-2011 Line Sletvold Finnan
wordpress visitor counter
