Stitcher’s Sampler – 2nd Update

I haven’t been able to work on this project much, which is a shame as I love the design, but other projects must take precedence. It is especially the wedding project which is taking me away from this design, after all it has a deadline, a quickly approaching deadline.

Keeping that in mind I’ll show you the little progress I have made. Most of the border is done and since the first update I also finished the hearts in the inner most box. This project has not turned out as I had imagined, when I first got the chart from Rosemary I started planning the colours etc., but when I got my hand dyed floss from Polstitches I knew I had to included it. Then I won a giveaway with some other hand dyed cottons (Pomme de Pin) and knew I had to included them too. All of a sudden the sampler became not just a celebration of stitching, but also of colour.

So here is where I’m up to.
Photobucket

A closer look at the border colours.
Photobucket

Photobucket

The hearts in the inner box are stitched in Polstitches Dragonfloss – Seawitch and a bright yellow cotton, the inner border is stitched in Pomme de Pin Pimprenelle and the lighter outer border is Pomme de Pin Evanescence. I’m seriously loving hand dyes!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. claire93
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 09:41:43

    it’s taking shape nicely and now that you’ve stitched outlines, it’ll be easy to fill in. Glad to see you’re using the Pomme de pin threads – Evanescence looks lovely and shimmering – and yep, you’ll find once you statrt with hand-dyes threads, you don’t want to stop. My favourites are PdeP and Threadworx but there are so many others out there, it’s difficicult to choose.

    Reply

    • Line
      Aug 21, 2010 @ 12:50:01

      Thanks Claire:) Haven’t tried Treadworx yet, but I’m planning to picksome upon the future along with some other hand dyes. It’s an addiction 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2007-2011 Line Sletvold Finnan
wordpress visitor counter
