I Stitch Therefore I SAL

When I got into cross stitching again and found the big online community I discovered a (for me) new thing, SALs. SAL stands for Stitch-A-Long and is used for when two or more stitchers get together and stitch one design.

Recently one of the members on CSF (Crossstitchforum) found a great SAL design in Cross Stitch Crazy, and arranged a SAL. I wasn’t originally going to join as they don’t sell Cross Stitch Crazy in AD, but Kell, who stitched her’s very quickly, was kind enough to send me the chart.

I decided to use some of the 14-count waste canvas I’d just bought and stitch it directly on to one of the bags I bought in Bangkok. It might not have been the best choice; the ready made bag is canvas so it’s hard to get the needle through the fabric, and it get’s very uneven for that reason. It’s also quite hard to stitch going in and out of the bag. First and last time methinks, at least with a design this size.

I haven’t managed to finish it yet, have to give my fingers a few days rest between each stitchy time, but here are a few pictures of my progress up to the beginning of June. Will post another update in a few days.

First two letters done and some border
Photobucket

Most of the words done
Photobucket

All the words done, most of the border with backstitch and some of the flowers in the corner. the yellow in the flowers were later frogged and replaced with two paler yellows.

Photobucket

I’m having a hard time stitching it because I want to get to the end and pull the waste canvas out, I have no patience what so ever.

Once I’ve finished this project I’ll let you know what colours i used, think the leaves might be the original ones, and the black but everything else has been changed.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erla Björk
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 19:27:40

    Your bag will look amazing! I can believe your fingers are sore 🙂

    Reply

  2. kell1976
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 21:43:15

    It’s looking fantastic though – I’m sure it’ll be well worth the extra effort. I can hardly wait to see it all finished! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Mysterystitcher
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 11:20:02

    It looks great! How is that other, yellow-ish project is going? Or is it too secret to be mentioned here? I understand, if it is.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2007-2011 Line Sletvold Finnan
wordpress visitor counter
