Christmas Round Robin

As I think I’ve mentioned I’ve joined a Christmas Round Robin as well as the unthemed one. This one is a little special in that we will have two themes within the wider theme of Christmas.

The first one the piece owner chooses, and two more squares are stitched with this theme. The second theme one of the other stitchers decide and two more stitch this theme as well. So when you get your piece back it will be a bit of a surprise to see what other theme has been chosen.

For my piece I chose Christmas trees as my theme, and here is what my contribution looks like.

Photobucket

It’s a freebie from a French blog, which you can find here.
I stitched it using Dragonfloss – 206 Wood Elf and Dragonfloss – 212 Blood Ruby, 1 over 1 on 28-count pearl flecked white brittney evenweave. If I was to stitch the tree again I think I might go with a lighter green, Wood Elf looks very dark, but all in all I love it. I’ve got a better picture on my camera, this one was taken with hubbys iPhone so the quality isn’t all that, and I’ll swap them as soon as the camera ones have been loaded up.

It was my first experience with brittney, and while I didn’t love it as much as 25 count Lugana it was still great to work with. the problem I had wasn’t with the holes being to small, more that the weave seemed more uneven than lugana. Maybe it’s the weaved in sparklies fault.

I did try and add extra sparkle, with blending filament on the baubles but even with blending filament it was too bulky over 1 on 28 count. Plus the fabric sparkles enough I guess.

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2007-2011 Line Sletvold Finnan
wordpress visitor counter
