Crossstitchforum ‘SUMMER’ ATC Exchange

We’ve just started sending out our Summer ATC’s on Crossstitchforum so my recipient doesn’t have it yet, however we haven’t kept them a secret so I can post a picture of mine without ruining the surprise.

I had a hard time deciding on the design for this one as summer is so many things, I had sort of designed one with a deserted beach, palm trees and a boat moored away in the distance (elements taken from different charts) as that is what summer in Abu Dhabi reminds me of (or rather all year except the summer, but you get my meaning). Anyway as I was about to start stitching I came across the perfect chart, it’s sort of beach themed and the motif was perfect for a stitcher.

I modified it slightly as the whole design with original wording would have been too big for an ATC on 16-count, basically kept the main motif but used my own text.
I then mounted it on cardboard and wrote my details on the back.

Photobucket

The design is from Brooke’s Books Publishing and can be found here (at the bottom left).

I stitched the design on 16-count white aida which has been coloured lightly with crayons to get the sketchy blue effect. I used the colours in the chart as much a I could, but there were a few of the greens I didn’t have so subbed them for different colours. Quite like the effect of it actually, he looks like a camo frog.
The words are stitched with Polstitches’ Dragonfloss – 123 Flippin’ Frogs (I thought that was quite appropriate).

I’m really getting into the whole ATC thing and have recently joined a group on Facebook where they do two exchanges a month, for June the themes are the letter ‘N’ and FIFA/Tennis. The letter one is completed, and the FIFA one about to be started, but I can’t show you any pics of those until they have been received, so you’ll just have to wait.

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2007-2011 Line Sletvold Finnan
wordpress visitor counter
