‘Summer’ Biscornu Exchange at Craftbubble.com

After the bookmark exchange went kind of bad I wasn’t sure I should join anymore exchanges on craftbubble, but then I saw the biscornu group and just had to join.I had never actually made a biscornu before, but making one in 2010 has made it on to my New Years Resolution’s list so it was about time.

A biscornu is an 8-sided ornamental cushion, usually a pincushion, but can also be decorations, key fobs, scent sachets, you name it. It’s made from two square pieced of aida/evenweave/linen which have to be the exact same size. For instruction on how to make your very own Biscornu have a look here and here.

The groups first exchange was a ‘Summer’ themed biscornu, and the send out date was on the 3rd so I sent mine off then. However the member who sent out to me was very considerate and sent her’s off early in case the UAE post was as slow as usual. Well they weren’t slow at all, today I received my biscornu from dpoll.

It’s really pretty with butterflies and a butterfly button, here you can see for your self.

Front:

dpoll's biscornu CB exchange front med version

Back:

Photobucket

Now I just hope my recipient get’s her’s quickly so I can show you a picture of the one I stitched. I can guarantee that there will be many more of those in the coming months, bitten by the biscornu bug.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kell
    May 10, 2010 @ 11:48:28

    Ooh, lovely! I’m totally addicted to biscornu too – they’re such fun to stitch!

    Reply

    • Line
      May 10, 2010 @ 21:00:12

      It certainly makes a great change from ‘normal’ cross stitching. I still haven’t stitch one for myself, having a hard time deciding on a pattern

      Reply

  2. kell1976
    May 22, 2010 @ 11:35:58

    I have been building up a small collection of squared designs so that I can pick and choose when the notion takes me. There are LOADS of lovely freebie designs online. Try a few of these places:

    http://www.victoriasampler.com/Free_Patterns/

    http://www.xstitchhappy.com/

    http://www.blackworkjourney.co.uk/

    http://wholeworldbiscornu.blogspot.com/

    http://laurajperindesigns.tripod.com/id30.htm

    http://kincavelkrosses.wordpress.com/

    (I had to slip my own blog in there at the end – LOL!). I’m sure you’ll find one or two designs from these sites you’ll like for biscornu. Happy stitching! 🙂

    Reply

    • Line
      May 22, 2010 @ 11:41:12

      Thanks Kell, i do love looking for patterns and there are so many wonderful free ones out there. Too much to choose from, that’s my problem

      Reply

  3. Lisa
    May 30, 2010 @ 17:33:51

    hi just wanted to say i love biscornus,and i’m addicted to biscornu exchanges so much so i made my own group on google..love the biscornu above i hope your addiction never gets old heheheh

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2007-2011 Line Sletvold Finnan
wordpress visitor counter
