Bookmark Exchange at CraftBubble

I thought I’d share some more of my stitching project with you all. Some of these are a bit old, others have been completed more recently.

First up is a bookmark I did for a bookmark exchange for one of my groups on CraftBubble. My partner has received it now so I can reveal all.

BibliophileBlackworkBookmark_lrg

The Bibliophile Bookmark design is by Kell at KincavelKrosses, do check out her design blog, it’s filled with great blackwork charts and other crossstitching too.

I stitched it on 16-count Aida, which I dyed myself using Dylon hand dye ‘Ocean Blue’. The splotches are intentional, I wanted to make it look inkstains. Not sure whether or not I succeeded, what do you think.
Once completed I backed the bookmark with black felt, stitching it on with the outer borderline. Then I pulled a few strands out on each side so it would have a fringe.
I’m not entirely happy with the backing, it’s certainly something I’ll have to experiment with later to find the perfect finish. But as a first bookmark it ain’t too shabby.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kell1976
    Apr 05, 2010 @ 13:53:32

    You did a beautiful job of it – I hope your exchange partner loves it as much as I do. THanks for the link and for letting me use this as the model for the design too. 🙂

    Reply

  2. claire93
    Jun 06, 2010 @ 09:58:57

    a really gorgeous bookmark ^^

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2007-2011 Line Sletvold Finnan
wordpress visitor counter
