WHAT??

I’ve given you the reason WHY for this blog, and it is now time to tell you WHAT I write 🙂

As of yet I have no shareable finished work, I’m my own worst critic, which is both a blessing and a curse. A blessing because I know I won’t post anything that I didn’t think was excellent, a curse for exactly the same reason. I won’t let anyone else read what I write in fear that no one will like it or even read it. I did take on step closer to posting a few months back when I posted my first drabbles on the HG Drabble forum. If you would like to read them they will be linked in the side bar 🙂
For those of you not in the know a HG Drabble is a ca 200 word scene or story with Jane Austen characters, the theme is decided through polls and you can post as many or as few drabbles as you would like.
I currently have several WiPs (works in progress), two Jane Austen Pride and Prejudice FanFictions, two Harry Potter FanFictions, 4 Regency stories, one modern/regency crossover and a slayer fic (as I like to call it) which, while inspired by Buffy the vampire slayer, has none of the shows characters in it, just my original ones. There are a few more, but they are really still in their infancy while these have a meatier story by now. The slayer fic is the most completed one, with the regency stories quickly following, the least completed ones are the HP fic ones, which are gonna be put on the back burner for the next few months.
As you can see I don’t really write modern stuff and half my WiPs are unpublishable even if they would be finished, but I count on them (the fanfics) to give me the confidence and strenght to send my novels off to a publisher. We’ll see what happens.
To organise myself and introduce my WiPs to you (my readers, if I have any) I’m gonna post a summary and maybe an excerpt if I feel particularly daring.
You might have figured out that I am a Jane Austen fan. I spend a lot of my time at HG and DWG (links in the sidebar) which are fan fiction sites devoted to JA, and this is also where I will be posting (one day). I have not quite decided if I will just post at HG or in both places, HG is strictly over 18s only and you will have to register before reading there, DWG on the other hand only has material which would be acceptable for under 18s as well. Both sites are great which is why I’m toying with the idea of writing a sensured version of stories for DWG. We’ll see.

I’m creating a website (mainly) for my none fan fiction stories, but all my stories will be on there. While I do have a lot of chapters for most of my stories I don’t want to start posting until it is finished and only in need of betaing.
I’m hoping to start posting my first JAFF story in September.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lewis
    Aug 25, 2007 @ 22:03:00

    I remember telling myself over and over again that I couldn’t write and wouldn’t dare. I’m very afraid of opening myself up to exposure. I was encouraged to write, though, and I wrote my first JA fan fic story, my first story of any kind, and it was with a great deal of trepidation and shaky hands that I did so. It is an amazing example of a lack of knowledge about many things, but it really boosted my self-esteem.

    I encourage you to write a short story and test the waters. If you wait until you’ve written the greatest Regency fan fic of all time, you’ll be waiting forever. That talent requires experience with comments, beta readers, frustration, and sometimes public disappointment. Did I scare you off? Sorry.

    Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2007-2011 Line Sletvold Finnan
wordpress visitor counter
