WHY??

Why am I doing this? I suppose I should share a little of myself to explain why I’ve started a new blog. As most of my acquaintances will know i love nothing more than to write, I would quite happily quite my job this moment and embark on my quest to be published. Quests however do not guarantee money for rent and food, and as mundane and normal as it sounds those are as essential to my life as my writing.
So instead I spend whatever other time I have trying to piece together a novel worthy of publishing, in between of course spending time with the love of my life, my wonderful boyfriend Paul, and not being a total Billy no mates. And as I am not the most disciplined writer in the world , it’s going slow.
I’m very creative, if I may say so myself (and I may, so I will), but that is at times my curse because I’ll get so bogged down in story line, planning and characterization, that little actual writing is done, and when I do actually write I cannot resist to go back and edit. The backspace button and delete button are my enemies.
My saviour is NaNoWriMo, the excellent brain child of Chris Baty, where you are challenged to write a 50000 novel in 30 days, more specifically from November 1st to November 30th. There is no time for editing, it’s just 30 days filled with writing, which a large and strong community cheering you on. You don’t create master pieces, it will eventually need editing, but if you go away from it with a 50000 word outline for a story (even if you need to cut most of it) then you have a basis.
I’ve entered 4 times, twice I didn’t get it, but then twice I did, and damn that felt good. We’re currently 2 and a half months away from NaNoWriMo 2007, and I need to do more day to day writing, so this is my tool. I’m slavishly gonna update on how my writing is going what I’m working on etc. Publish my actions so people can take me to task if I don’t do what i should.
I’m also doing my NaNo blog this year, my NaNo2006 blog was not very good, and I sacrificed it so i could get my final word count up where it belonged in the end. This year though, I’m challenging myself. I’m gonna write a 50000 finished novel and keep a daily blog, an d you can follow me as I will link to my NaNo blog from here.
So this is my why. I will tell you more about my actually writing as well, but as I’m working just now this is all I have time for. Until tonight

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mysterystitcher
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 01:59:56

    I hope you will make it with your novel.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Copyright © 2007-2011 Line Sletvold Finnan
wordpress visitor counter